Condo for rent in the Caribbean



Caribbean Vacations

THANK YOU TO OUR GUESTS FOR TAKING THE TIME TO WRITE US!

What a wonderful apartment. We enjoyed ourselves immensely, and we have tentative plans to return in 2013. Howard we LOVE St. Croix and we loved how “homey” the condo was. Thanks so much for the most memorable month
--January 30th – February 29, 2012 Ann & John Kradensky and Linda and George Lavellette, N.J.

We had a great week. The condo has everything you need – the beach is lovely and the pool was great. (not many people in the pool to bother you) The guys did 7 dives – favorite was Davis bay near Cane Bay.  We snorkeled every day outside the condo on the beach.  We saw a shark, rays, turtles and barracudas of course lots of fish too.  Snorkeling here on Sugar Beach is great near the tires.  A huge ray comes by every day (we think). We ate at Breezez, right next-door, Rum Runners in Christainsted, Smugglers Cove (great Pizza), Harvey’s – all were good meals.  Thanks Howard we all had fun!We did Buck Island-beautiful beach and reefs.
--
August 8-15, 2011, Brian, Debbie, Matt, Nathan, Brie from Avon Lake OH.

Love St. Croix – your condo – Favorite Restaurant – Savant with Bacchus Pricey but wonderful! Loved Rum Runners and Anna Rum cakes which you can order from Facebook she said, just type in St. Croix Rum Cakes”. Blue Moon Sunday Brunches. Best Trip: Sweeney’s Safari Tour – Sweeney has amazing knowledge of the island, its history and eco structure! St. Croix was more than we expected. We Loved It! Condo was the best equipped we ever had.
--February 16-March 3, 2011,  Joan and Jim Bruce, Pittsburgh, PA

We had an amazing time in St. Croix. Unfortunately, we had to come back to work and to our reality. St. Croix and the condo were great. We had dinner and lunch at many of the places recommended by Howard and his previous guests. Rowdy Joe’s was quite the surprise on our last full day in town, as we walked in expecting hamburgers and French fries, and got a whole lot more. The place was probably one of our favorites. The island has a small town feel to it, as we saw many of the passengers from our flight and our snorkeling trip throughout the week doing many of the same activities or dining at the same places. The locals are very polite and outgoing, and seem to know one another quite well also. In addition to relaxing on the beach at Cane Bay most days, we also hiked the trail at Carambola, drove through the rain forest, toured the distillery, went to the far east end of the island, visited Christiansted and Fredricksted, snorkeled with Big Beard, and enjoyed the Mocko Jumbie shows 3 different times. The culture and hospitality was really great to be a part of, and we appreciate your organization and Kirby’s help as well. -- Heath n Jamie Dillard, July 2011, Charlotte, NC

Thank you for a very nice visit in your condo. I like St. Croix so much I was thinking about what Bruce and I could do for a living here. The condo was supplied with everything we needed. Thank you! Bruce celebrated his Birthday here which was great. We ate at Smuggler’s, Breezez, Rumrunners, Brew Pub and Bombay Club – all were good! Visited Buck Island and bought jewelry at Sonya’s. We did our beset to stimulate the economy down here. Now… back to reality!
--Bruce and Arin, 7/2010, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL (Jacksonville area)

We had a fabulous trip.  Weather could not have been better.  We ate at all the usual places and also the last night at The Bombay Club which didn’t seem to make any of the list’s that were in your guest books.  We both had very good meals there and really liked the bar area.  We took one full day and toured the Island, from Point Udall to Ham’s Bluff.  Went on the ½ day to Buck Island with Big Beard’s.  All things were great and we loved fact that your condo was on the ground floor with the easy beach access.  Thanks again….-- Bruce & Karen-  July 2010

Deb, Matt and I arrived on time Sunday, and Nate and his wife joined yesterday. So far everything is great. Have been to Smugglers Cove, Breezez and Rum Runners. Today dove twice at Cane Bay – real nice – and had lunch at a place called EAT. Excellent food! Tomorrow Buck Island Dive and 3 dives Friday with N2, including day and night pier. Condo is very nice and very comfortable. We did Buck Island- beautiful beach and reefs! We all had fun! Thanks Howard! .-- Brian and Debbie, Columbus, OH August 2010

Thank you for  your condo and all the advice you gave us to make our trip everything we thought it would be. We feel badly because we didn't fill out your guest book and we had some great suggestions for your future guests. Dinner on the terrace at the Buccaneer was very romantic and the sunset was beautiful. We had a fabulous time at Carambola beach resort for their Friday night buffet. Great food and a wonderful show (Mocko Jumbies and dancing). The scuba diving was out of this world (or in to the blue). Jenny was a very patient and great instructor. The highlight of the trip was our engagement.....on the sofa in your living room. Thanks again for everything you did to make our first trip to St. Croix very special.
-- John, Cleveland, OH July  2010

Thank you Howard for the perfect getaway to celebrate our 40th anniversary! Having the beach right at our feet and falling asleep to the sounds of the surf has been amazing. Ate at Breezez, Smugglers and Brew Pub. Horseback tour through the Rain Forest and on the beach was nice. Did alittle snorkeling at the condo. Went to Diva’s Casino and lost our butts! We did not rent a car but had the best Taxi Driver.... Best of all we want to recommend “BIG JOHN” our taxi driver! (340-474-1856). He took us all over the island. Hope to be able to come again! Daylight come and we gotta go home! -- Bob and Bev, Bexley, OH , June 2010

Extraordinary Week! Gorgeous weather and island! We did so much but still relaxed: Art Thursday in Christensted and Art Museam in Fredricksted. Golf at Buccaneer and Carambola, challenging but welcoming. Roseway sunset cruise is amazing. Good places we ate include Rumrunners, Spratnet, Coconuts on Beach and Smuggler Cove ( next building on left next to condo) good for eat-in or take-out. Lots of good snorkeling in front on beach right outside the door and at Cane Bay and 1 morning watched humpback whales from the porch of the wonderful condo! Thanks! Can’t wait to return!
-- John, Ellen, Andrew and Dungan, 3/2010, Hudson, OH

It was a “stormy” St. Croix this week, but what a relaxing time we had here at Hornblower on the beach! It was great to walk right out of the condo onto the beach, which was raked clean every morning. We drove the island from pt. Udall to Sandy Pt. and from Carambola to Pelican Cove! After 2 months in St. Thomas, we wer amazed by the amount of space there is. Thank you! --Very comfortable.
-- Richard and Elizabeth, Jamestown, RI - 3/2010

We had a wonderful time. Your condo is very nice. It is beautifully decorated with all the dark whicker furniture and gorgeous area rugs. This was quite a change from the colorful whimsical units that we have rented in the past. We especially enjoyed the area rugs in the bedrooms and very comfortable lounges on the porch! I will send a few pictures later when Cathy gets them on the computer.

Cathy’s first mission was to get to the grocery store and buy two bottles of Ponche Kuba, one for each week. (She wishes they sold it in Ohio!). We walked to Pueblo’s and then got a taxi home. I was surprised that they took credit card and gave me a senior discount. I then called all of our favorite restaurants and made reservations for each evening. We quickly settled into our daily routine: Up at 6:30 AM for a morning walk; breakfast and on the beach by 8:30 –9:00; nap, read, nap, read; take a swim in the sea before lunch; spend the afternoon by the pool, come back around 4; I enjoyed a nap on the porch and Cathy went back on the beach. Then we would shower and get ready for dinner as Big John, our taxi driver, picked us up at 6:15 each evening. Cathy was disappointed that Stix had closed as she loved their pizza. We miss the Top Hat and Tivoli Gardens. We had never been to the Buccaneer and so ate at the Terrace Restaurant one evening and at Bacchus for an early New Year’s Eve dinner for our two new restaurants in addition to our other favorites.

We went into town to shop one day and were pleasantly surprised that all the buildings had been freshly painted. Everything looked so clean and neat. I hope the retailers start to pick up business as the Cruise lines start returning to the island in January. None of the resorts by Sugar Beach or Sugar Beach were as crowded as in years past. This will probably be our last Christmas visit as the air fares are out of sight, the condo was higher even with the return discount and the restaurant food was much higher and the stock market has done much damage!

The first year that my husband, Bob, and I visited St. Croix we stayed at Grape Tree Best Western which is now the Divi. There was one traffic light on the island and we flew in on a small plane that sat you according to weight as the run ways were not long enough for the larger planes.

We returned one Easter with Cathy and another Easter with Cathy and my Mom. Grape Tree was destroyed by Hugo and after my husband died Cathy and I “found” Sugar Beach. This was our 12th visit having stayed in four different condos. We remember the pool with the wooden walk way all the way across and before the sun shade. We also enjoyed the welcome drink and snack evening when first arriving and the drinks and snack on New Year’s Eve when Susan was the manager. Your condo is surely in a little piece of God’s paradise and we have been blessed to have enjoyed.

-- Bobbi, December/January 2010

I just got back from vacation.  Thanks for the card! We loved staying at your comfortable condo! We really liked that it was in proximity to everywhere we wanted to go. We are big into snorkeling so we could easily get to the east and west side of the island from Sugar Beach. I signed your guest book with my favorite snorkeling spots. The hike from Point Udall to Issac's bay was my favorite! Beautiful unspoiled splendor! The only thing I would suggest for your condo is a can opener with rubber handles. You have some ancient metal ones that aren't really useable any longer. Besides that we loved the pool scene and the gorgeous view with "pain killers" in hand every afternoon! We'll be back! -- Ann Marie Lewis -  July 2009

Howard, we had a great time! Thanks so much for the use of your condo. We will have
many fond memories.-- Betsy, Cleveland, OH June 2009

Thank you for the use of your condo and all the advice you gave us to make our trip everything we thought it would be. We feel badly because we didn't fill out your guest book and we had some great suggestions for your future guests. Dinner on the terrace at the Buccaneer was very romantic and the sunset was beautiful. We had a fabulous time at Carambola beach resort for their Friday night buffet. Great food and a wonderful show (Mocko Jumbies and dancing). The scuba diving was out of this world (or in to the blue). Jenny was a very patient and great instructor. The highlight of the trip was our engagement.....on the sofa in your living room. Thanks again for everything you did to make our first trip to St. Croix very special.
-- John, Cleveland, OH April 2009

Howard, Ellie and I had a great time at your condo. We did a lot of touring and visited many beaches all over the island. The people we met were very friendly and one man commented that he was pleased to see us as the economy has impacted them. Our bedroom was the one that was just off from the beach. We left the doors open and allowed the wind to blow and listened to the surf crashing as we went to sleep.
The office staff was very friendly and helpful.

Ellie and I loved to watch and listen to the water crashing over the reef. We truly were entertained by the pelicans diving into the water in front of your condo. We no longer scuba dive and sun bathing is not our thing. We found shade and read. I think I read 6 novels maybe 7.
-- Ellie & Gerry, OH  March 2009

Howard, we had a great time, your place was exactly as described and it was great to come home to instead of a hotel room. We listened to Bill Bass a little in your condo and then when we got to the wedding he was playing - the kids thought that was cool. We really appreciate all the help you provided and the guest book also provided some good info that we used. I can't think of anything to recommend to you to change - it was probably the best vacation we have had (even though I am really not a beach guy). Thanks again -- The Clines, Columbus, OH  June 2008

Howard,
LOOK AT THIS! We had a great time! The boat is Mocko Jumbie with Captain Carl Holley (website is http://www.fishwithcarl.com). The guy on the right is my friend Chris Naszodian. The guy on the left is with the boat, first mate Ryan. This was a record catch for a dolphin on that boat. Thanks again,
-- Bill ( March 2008)
Dolphin

Dolphin
Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. Have definitely had a wonderful time and were able to relax. Went to Breeze's the first night and had a wonderful dinner however we went again the third night and it was not good. (just don't get the specials). Our favorite place for dinner was The Terrace at Buccaneer's -- it is beautiful there and the food was AMAZING! Suggest Coconut's or Sunset Grill for sunset. Make sure to go to the Cruzan Rum Distillery and take back some bottles. We went to Rum Runner's and was also delicious and we recommend it. Will be back Soon!
-- Ed, Betty and Katie Nix, Greenville, SC March 2008

GREAT LOCATION AND CONDO! Our Trip here was incredible and our stay awesome! Thank you for sharing your bit of paradise with us. We tried Breezez several time--food was great; service incredible. Took Big Beard's 1/2 day snorkel trip to Buck Island. WOW! Big John at Cruzan Taxi was a true gentleman. We will never forget our first trip to St. Croix and WE WILL BE BACK!
-- Don& Ruthanne Lynch, Jacksonville, FL January 2008

We put this trip together in 2 days! After returning to Chicago from Mazatlan, Mexico to 15 degree weather and - having 1 more week off - said, find a warm paradise! We're airline personnel so got air, located Howard on the internet - Howard was wonderful! Booked us here and within 24 hours we were in his condo --- Thanks so very much!

We love your artwork and your "GREAT" directions and Help! Beautiful condo - like home! Love 1st floor step-out to the beach. Love seaplanes landing on our "Front Yard" Big Beard- not enough people - took "other" boat to Buck Island to snorkel - good - absolutely loved Buck Island turtle beach - powder white sand, clean aqua water. Sugar Beach was peaceful, quiet, nice but there was some seaweed on the beach. We dove Cane Bay and Salt River-Great! Absolutely loved our stay.

PS - Howard your décor, accommodations and fine touches made everything wonderful. Thanks for your genuine care and desire to make a vacation a memory - This place is a keeper!
-- Nora Chicago, IL January 2007

It's my secod trip here and I really enjoyed the trip to Buck Island on Big Beard's Renegade ship. The snorkeling was wonderful! My sister and I went swimming in the pool everyday. We donated a lot of pool toys. The Divi and Cane Bay were my favorite beaches. The waves were huge! Breezez has the best chocolate cake! Had a great time! Thank you!
-- Shelby - 9 yrs old!, Ohio November 2007

Judy's Rent-a-Car is GREAT! We enjoyed meals at all the following: Lunch at "Breezez", lunch at "off the Wall", lunch at "Sand Castle's" on the beach and at Fort Christiansted Brewery. Also highly recommend burgers at "Angry Nate's" and renting snorkel gear from "Dive Experience" on Strand Street. The new tire reef put in at Smuggler's Cove is pretty cool for snorkeling. Lots of amazing fish although the tires have yet to be enveloped in coral.

Thank you for sharing your home-away-from-home with us. It's been a wonderful escape for us and it is extremely hard for us to leave!!!!! Forgot to mention best grocery store is Foodtown, just past Five Corners. Awesome produce, meat and cheese etc... just be careful driving home and keep left.

PS - I'm drunk!!!
-- James and Lisa Eric, BC Canada and Santa Cruz CA... December 2007

Big "YES" to Smuggler’s Cove (go out the front on the beach and head left) – good food, good people and good prices. Big "NO" to Breezes (on the right) snotty rude staff, exorbitant prices. Loved Tan Tan Tows – say “hi” to Alvin & Jose for us! Casino was pretty cool! Enjoyed breakfast with the crabs at Rum Runners. Spent most of our time on your porch and on the beach. We were all her for our nephew’s wedding. The geckos around the beach were fun! Crabs love coffee grounds if you want more fun! Souvenir shopping down on the boardwalk in Christiansted was best at Victoria's and The Purple Papaya.  Great pizza and stromboli at Smuggler's Cove. Enjoy! -- The Stallings, Oklahoma City, OK & Newton, KS August 2007

Really enjoyed our week at your lovely condo. The snorkeling at Buck Island was great. We enjoyed the beach and pool at the condo. We had fabulous dinners at Breezes, Elizabeth's, the Palms and H2O. It's great being right on the beach and so close to restaurants and great snorkeling. Thanks for a wonderful time. -- The Davis Family Orlando Florida and Brenda Ferguson, Akron, OH April, 2007

My family and I want to thank you for the use of your condo in St. Croix. We really had a great time and the condo was great. The lights went out one of the nights so we bought a flashlight and left it on the counter. Other then that, things were great. -- Paul, July, 2007

We enjoyed walking the beach and collecting shells (some of which we added to your collection). Our two favorite beaches were Cane Bay and Cramer Park. We tried to get to Sandy Point, but couldn't get past "dirt" road. Best shop in Christiansted was Purple Papaya. RumRunners has good Sushi. Visited Cruzan Rum Factory and for $4.00 you get a tour and some "generous samples." A perfect Sunday is Mass at Holy Cross Catholic Church and brunch with "Bill Bass at RumRummers" Darn, Day Light come and me Gotta go Home!!! Thanks so much! -- Anonymous, 2007

We just returned from St. Croix and your wonderful condo. We absolutely loved the location on the beach. We felt so comfortable and "at home."

Thank you for the wonderful added touches of music, movies, and games. The reading selections were a bonus as well. Having two bathrooms with a 13-year-old is just heaven for all concerned. We also usually ate breakfast on the wonderful porch (along with the birds and the lizards) and enjoyed watching the day begin (really early, isn't it?). My husband rarely left the hammock except to watch the Tennis Channel or snorkel. The pool and cabana area are terrific as well. The kitchen was well stocked with the necessities and bath towels were in abundance (thank goodness). We took your advice and ate at the Lobster Reef--Frank is a hoot, and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and the view from his cafe. Too bad he is closing up in a couple of months. I guess we'll have to wait two years to go back.

Your condo is the best one we have ever stayed in, and we will give it a glowing recommendation. We always felt safe at Sugar Beach and were able to have a relaxing vacation. Thanks for providing us a wonderful place to stay.
-- Stefanie, June 24, 2007

Hey! We had a terrific time at your condo. We enjoyed it every bit as much as we did last year. We totally rested and lay on the beach and did some sightseeing but not a lot. I snorkeled a little in front of the condo. I drank more Corona's than I probably should have!

Everything was just fine at your Condo. Your brass sculpture of the dolphins with the turtle is fabulous! And it looks awesome in the condo.

-- Lorri, July, 2007

We really enjoyed the condo. St. Croix is very relaxing. Towel closet was well stocked with towels and linen. Tim bought 2 kayaks that pump up - we had a blast on the ocean with those. Rode out to the reef and snorkeled. -- Tim and Viki Smith, Jackson Center OH July 2007

My family and I recently rented your condo in St. Croix (reserved under the name Maria Cooke) back on May 27-June 3. I wanted to take a moment to let you know how much we appreciated your note before our trip and also the note after our trip. We certainly enjoyed your condo. We loved dinner at Run Runners on the Boardwalk and Duggans at The Reef - excellent! Jill & Paul's horseback riding was alot of fun ... wear ling pants. Thank you for sharing your condo!
-- Kimberly, Maria, Rev. & Mrs. Mercer, Monday, June 12, 2006

Howard, the condo was great. We had a great time there. Went to St. Thomas 1 day shopping, not my cup of tea. We went all over the island ( St. Criox). Went diving off the pier, snorkeling. Thanks alot!
-- Tim, July 10, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay here and wer are so unhappy that we have to leave. We wish we could stay forever! We enjoy the beaches and one of the things we enjoyed the most ws the Fridya buffet at Carabula Hotel and Beach Resort... it was fabulous, we want to come back. see you all
-- Jules & Jeanne, Irvington, NJ May 26, 2007

Stayed at "Hornblower" for 12days. in April 2005. Very nice I would highly recommend this condo. The condominium is three levels but "Hornblower" is located on the ground floor, about 20feet from the water. Since there is a coral reef located about a half mile from shore for great snorkeling, it creates very gentle wave on shore. The beach is a great sand beach that's raked every morning. The grounds of the complex is groomed daily also. The manager really needs to be complemented on what a wonderful job he does. Restaurants are on either side of the complex within walking from unit. "Hornblower" has all you could ask for, full kitchen, two bedrooms each with full bathrooms. New tv dvd, stereo, fans and whole house air conditioning.
-- Jim, June 8, 2005

We stayed at Sugar Beach from June 22-27, 2007 and were extremely pleased with our choice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we would especially like to recognize the excellent customer service provided by both Frances and also a young woman named Elishah (pardon my spelling). We rented a 2 bedroom unit, a Master bedroom and another bedroom with 2 single beds which was an excellent choice for our 2 teenage boys. The units were equipped with everything we needed including a coffee maker, a blender (for drinks), utensils, cooking ware, a microwave, a stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, a TV with cable hookup including HBO, air conditioning, and ceiling fans. The unit was very clean and well maintained. We stayed on the 1st floor which allowed us to walk out onto the beach and enjoy the ocean. Also, there is a large outside swimming pool. Snorkeling was OK but we explored other areas to do this. We definitely recommend a trip to Buck Island. This place is great!
-- Mary, January, 2006

Howard,
I wanted to thank you for your help in setting up our trip to St Croix on such short notice. My daughter and I had a wonderful time. Your place is wonderful and just feet from the water. We snorkeled on the condo most afternoons and found conch, an octopus, moray eels, a huge starfish, lobster, and more. We did a couple of great scuba dives of wrecks and the reefs. I've attached a photo of our fishing trip results. We each caught a fish - Molly a 22lb mahi-mahi, and mine a 26 lb wahoo. Thanks again,
-- Molly & Kevin, April 18, 2006
Wahoo and Dolphin
Just completed a lovely Christmas vacation that started out with your well appointed property in St. Croix. The ground floor location and proximity to the water were well received by my daughter and wife. The weather was great and it was nice to see the sun after a few months of total darkness up here in Thule. We reported a problem with the telephone on arrival and the repair people worked on it most of the week from outside and finally repaired the phone on Thursday. Overall, again, it was an excellent stay and may be contacting you again this fall again, depending on my follow on location.
-- Tom, January, 2006

We are here with the Tropical Dance Week and have been fortunate to be assigned your unit. Walking up to the sound of the waves is a teat for us folks who live in the mountains of North Idaho! The sun, the beautiful water, swimming with the colorful fish, snorkeling), the island activities and the dancing have all combined to give us the vacation of our dreams. Your facilities have plenty of everything; space, comfort and supplies.
-- Pat & Vicki, Careywood, ID February 2006

From the first day here we fell in love with St. Croix. We embrace the culture and lived every day like it was our last. Snorkeling on our beach is fun, shopping in town and breakfast at Shenanigans was our usual day. Talking to regulars give so much and helps understand life here. WE will be back and soon. Thanks for the great tips Howard! We enjoyed this immensely.
-- Lorri & Jeff Ellwood City PA September 2006

Everything is beautiful! Great price, well maintained and beautiful décor. We have enjoyed every minute --- sunrise to sunset. Be sure to take the sail to Buck Island and drive along the west coast. If you like to cook, don't miss Schooners market-great seafood, steaks and fresh vegetables. It's on 83, past Christiansted opposite the ballfields!
-- Jacocks Family, Washington Grove MD May 2005


Visit our blog to see what fun St. Croix is click here: http://caribbeanhornblower.blogspot.com/2008/05/relief-from-tax-season.html

Trip Advisor has rated Sugar Beach Resort as the number 1 hotel on St. Croix since January 2005 to the present!

Call:  Howard Jesko
US   1-440-365-8200
Fax: 1-440-365-0115
Email Howard at:
 sales@caribbeanrentalonthebeach.com


Home  |  Take our Tour  |  Rates
Request Date  |  Amentities  |  Contact Us